The Art of Monitoring Bug Bounty Programs

The Art of Monitoring Bug Bounty Programs

In the name of Allah

Hi guys, I’m YoungVanda and in this write-up I wanna talk about how I monitor BBPs (Bug Bounty Programs) + Introducing you to a new made private tool.

The Mindset

What would’ve happened if you were the first hunter working on a target?
Or if you could possibly see every single changes of the programs, in all platforms( HackerOne, Bugcrowd, Intigriti, Yeswehack ).
Good news baby👼👼👼

Introduction to Program-Watcher

This is a new tool developed by Ali Khalkhali, called Program-Watcher. This tool gets the latest changes and updates( Added Scopes, Removed Scopes, New Added Programs and much more details) of bug bounty platforms.

If you don’t know how to install and work with the tool, check out the video:

What’s the point

Basically by this tool, we gonna find fresh targets, they could be new scopes or new programs. It literally means, we are one of the first hunters working on these assets.
Yeap, that’s a good news, finally 🤗. Yeap!?

The Points

  • No more duplicates.

  • Running Nuclei, in this scenario, might give you more bugs.

  • Hunting XSS with Wayback + kxss is possible.

  • Hunting XSS with Google Dork is possible.

I only use the last technique, for now, and I’m gonna tell you about my own approach. But you can be creative and do something crazy with the fresh targets👽👽👽

Note:

  • I use this method quite often and I was quite successful in this regard. Even Ranked 1 in a Hall of Fame of a VDP Program

  • Also, some of my friends use this technique for RDP targets and they’ve performed quite well so far.

  • It’s totally up to you, The way that you want to use the tool. But eventually that’s a good start. Because you’re the first hunter😮

How I take advantage of program-watcher

First of all, I wanna say that you can take advantage of any recent changes, please be creative. But I have my own approach for this matter.

I’m more fond of New Programs and New Added Wild Scopes. Like these messages:

  • I like this message: New Program named STH added to platform

  • I like this message: Following New inScope added (with lots of Wild scopes Yummy 🤤)

Fresh Targets + Google Dorks

I only use Google Dork technique for fresh assets. You can run Nuclei or run Wayback + kxss. The key in my methodology is that I only look for legacy applications. Just looking for easy XSS 😁

Here are some Google Dorks I use more often than not.

site:*.newwild.tld ext:php
site:*.newwild.tld ext:jsp
site:*.newwild.tld ext:asp
site:*.newwild.tld ext:aspx
site:*.newwild.tld ext:htm
site:*.newwild.tld ext:html

I hate copy & pasting dorks, so I’ve made a simple dork generator.
You can check out my github to see all the dork I use:

For example, when I use this dork:

site:*.newwild.tld ext:php

I usually find endpoints like:

https://sub.newwild.tld/sth/sth/endpoint.php

So here I do parameter discovery with x8. Also, now I know that this application is legacy, it means it is a bit old + good spot for old bug types like: XSS, SQLi, etc.
Therefore, I fuzz . I fuzz till the apocalypse, metaphorically speaking😂.
I fuzz for hidden endpoints, hidden parameters.
So make your own private word-list. Use raft-large and mix it with some other word-list repositories together and now you’re good to go.

Here, Some fuzzing scenarios I use most of the times:

https://sub.newwild.tld/sth/sth/FUZZ.php
https://sub.newwild.tld/sth/sth/FUZZ
https://sub.newwild.tld/sth/FUZZ
and so on

Final Thing :)

Yeah man. That was all I knew. Was this write-up good enough? 😂😂😂

Never mind 😂. Please let me know. If you have any question, I would be more than glad to help you

Oh man… Wait a minute, I tweet about my recent findings and some other bug bounty tips. So check out my tweeter account . Sorry X account :)

My Twitter Account: @young_vanda_

Resources: